The Mill At Andé
Nestling in a branch of the Seine River, between Paris and Rouen, the Mill is an exceptional location, with an extraordinary destiny.
In 1957, under the aegis of its owner, Suzanne Lipinska, the Mill became dedicated to artistic creation. Very quickly it turned into a gathering place for intellectuals and writers, offering its guests a unique and enchanting setting, appreciated by the most famous names in cinema, music and literature.
If the wooden panels of this late 17th century building could speak, they might tell of the passionate nocturnal discussions, or on the contrary the profound comments of such famous guests as Maurice Pons, Georges Perec, Marguerite Duras, Jeanne Moreau, Jacques Dutronc, Eugène Ionesco, Samuel Beckett and Wolinski, to name a few.
They could also tell stories about the shooting of François Truffaut’s film masterpiece, Jules et Jim.
Today, the Moulin is as serene as ever, with its discreet wooden panelling, and it is still a refuge for artists. In summer, the Moulin hosts the International Academy of Music. In 1998, it became a permanent centre dedicated to cinematographic writing, and was awarded the title of “European Cinematographic Cultural Treasure”.
You must be logged in or register on this page to post a comment.